A Nyonya Delight

One of my favorite food is Nyonya food – like how my grandma used to cook .. and I am extremely lucky that my momma today still cook my favorites.  However, if I were to eat out, or if I have overseas guests with me in Penang, and I would like to share my favorite food, I will surely take them out to Hainan Restaurant.  There’s two of them in Penang – one in Bayan Baru (next to Kayu Nasi Kandar near the Vistana Hotel) and the other is at Tanjung Marina (nearby QE2).  They serve one of the best sambal tumis and their assam prawn is just super delicious.  Other items that you might wanna consider include Spring Roll and Inche Kabin. However, do not overeat because you sure wanna have their Bee-Koh-Moi (black glutonous rice dessert).  The only thing about Hainan is that it is a little pricey – if you gonna have their sambal tumis and assam prawn, be prepared for a RM 25-35 per pax!

Leave a comment